d7 Report Integration

Starting with version 1.37 of PC Repair Tracker, a new feature was added thanks to collaboration with the best tool a computer repair tech can have in his arsenal..... d7. If you have never heard of d7, click the banner below to check it out. Once you start using it, you will not leave home without it.

d7

You can also see a cool video over on the d7 website showing this feature.

This new feature allows you to automatically send detailed reports about the computers you are working on directly from d7 to PCRT. Information about hard drive SMART data, malware scans, computer specs, installed programs, product keys and tons of other information with just a couple of clicks.

Another feature, is that PCRT can also now pull some of the machine specs from the d7 report and import them into PCRT.

The way it works, is that if it is detected that an attachment on a work order is a d7 report, a link will appear to "import specs", after clicking this button, you will be brought to the edit owner/pc page with several of these fields filled out, just confirm and save and you are done. (Note: Attachment file must be a zip file, contain "d7" in the title for the link to appear. d7 report file must contain the "info_report.html" report file for it to work)

d7spec1d7spec2

Setup

1. In PCRT copy the d7 folder to the location that you will use to FTP the reports to from d7. Preferably this would be a location that is not web accessible.

2. Create a FTP account on your server that d7 can use to connect to. It should be locked down so that it has no access to folders other than the PCRT d7 folder. The FTP server root should be set to go directly to the PCRT d7 folder.

3. Edit this variable to your repair/deps.php file:

#d7 Integration - Report Upload Folder
$d7_report_upload_directory = "../d7/";

This can be an absolute path on your server or a relative path. Make sure to set the permissions to 777 on this folder.
To allow PCRT to be able to delete and move the reports.

4. Now in d7, go to Config->Reports and check the box for "Prompt for Client Name/Ticket/Work Order #". This will make d7 prompt on start up for the client name and work order number. You should not use special character in the client name as this name will be used to form the filename of the uploaded attachment. If you wish to change this after it is initially set, on the main d7 startup
screen, click on the set client name to modify it.

5. On the Report config screen, you will probably want to specify the "Reports Directory Naming Convention" to:

%number%_%name%_%date%

6. Go to Config -> "dCloud/FTP Server" and enter your FTP server details. If you setup your special FTP account root folder to go
directly to the PCRT d7 folder, you should only have set the "Reports Directory" to "/". You will also need to check the box that
says "Zip Reports Before Upload"

Usage

1. Transferring the reports from d7 to PCRT: To transfer the reports, you can either choose "Move Reports to FTP" from the
top d7 FTP menu, or you can set it as a d7 "Shutdown Action" when closing d7.

2. Once the reports have been sent to PCRT a link will appear at the top of the status menus that reports are ready. On the
following screen, you will have the option to attach them one at a time to an "open" work order, or as long as you have
specified the work order number in d7, that can be attached en masse.

Security Concerns

1. The d7 Folder in the PCRT package contains a .htaccess file that should block any web access to the folder, but it is better to not place it in a web accessible folder anyways.

2. d7 has optional features to create reports with user web browser passwords and other sensitive information. While this
information can be vital during a repair, ask yourself if it is really necessary to store it in PCRT perminently.

3. Make sure you create a special FTP account and change the password from time to time. If you were to forget and leave d7 on a customers computer, they could potential have access to your FTP server. But better yet, do not ever copy d7 to a customers computer if not necessary.